Ariana Grande ‘Dangerous Woman’ 2016

Dangerous_Woman_(Deluxe_Cover)

A Brief Background

Ariana Grande is an extremely talented American starlet who is often introduced as the ‘new Mariah Carey’. Grande started her commercial career as a cast member of the Nickelodeon show ‘Victorious‘ playing ditsy yet powerhouse vocalist Cat Valentine. She continued to capture the attention of people everywhere with her accurate impressions of singers from around the globe on YouTube and late night television shows.

Since her Nickelodeon days, Ariana has released 2 studio albums, ‘Yours Truly’ (2013) and ‘My Everything’ (2014) – both of which storming straight to the top of the charts in America and scoring her 2 top 10’s in the UK (#2 + #7).

In this review we look at Grande’s hotly anticipated 3rd album ‘Dangerous Woman’ originally entitled ‘Moonlight’, Grande decided to scrap plans to release the album as she didn’t think it was ready and re-worked nearly everything, thus scrapping single ‘Focus’ from the track listing (Apart from the exclusive Japan release of ‘Dangerous Woman’)

The singles and their chart peaks  from ‘Dangerous Woman’ are as follows:
Dangerous Woman (Album) – TBC
Focus – US #7,  UK #10
Dangerous Woman  (Single) – US #10,  UK #17
Into You – US #83,  UK #44

Are we stepping into ‘Dangerous’ territory? Or will we be ‘Greedy’ for more?
Let’s find out!

Click here – ‘My Everything’ Review

 




 

The Review – Luke 

I have been so excited for this album, I can’t wait to get started!

 

 

1. Moonlight          *Audio*

(A.Grande, T.Brown, V.McCants, P.L.Johnson)

Awww, what a sweet introduction from Miss Grande; the soft tones at the beginning of the track which subtly carry the song almost sounds like a child’s lullabye. These are complimented by Grande’s ever changing vocal moments, with soft whispy vocals, angelic falsetto and haunting echos. The middle 8 is a lovely touch to the track with a violin and harp sounds.
Originally the album was called Moonlight, I wonder if the original track list resonated with this sound? A lovely start
7/10

 


 

2. Dangerous Woman                              *Video*

(J.Carlsson, R.Golan, M.Martin)

From a soft and sweet violin sound to a more darker and grungier sound, surprisingly ‘Dangerous Woman‘ follows ‘Moonlight‘ exceedingly well. This track could easily be featured in ‘50 Shades of Grey‘ and shows off a different side to Grande, with a more adult theme “Bad girls underneath like that”. Grande goes on to kill this song with amazing powerhouse vocals and takes the song up a notch after a ‘rock ‘n’ roll’ themed middle 8 with a unique guitar riff filled instrumental. I can’t compliment this song enough. It’s amazing to sing along to (Even if I can hear my neighour’s dog barking) it’s mature, sophisticated and appeals to a wide audience. 9/10

 


3. Be Alright                    *Audio*

(A.Grande, T.Brown, V.McCants, K.Rohaim, N.Audino, L.Hughes, W.Tafa)

A very different sound from Ariana now, I feel like I have just walked into ‘Sass Central’. An upbeat track came in at just the right point and really lifts the mood. I can’t sense much substance lyrically apart from the empowering “The high times are golden and will lead to better days” and “All them tears will come and go” but it’s such a fun track and the instrumental reinforces this. My favorite part of this song comes from the different arrangements it supplies, Grande’s team have successfully managed to make 1 song sound as though it’s 3 sewn together without sounding out of place – the twists and turns are great to hear. Then finally the track ends just like it began with next to no music and small chime sounds. 8/10

 


4. Into You              *Audio*

(A.Grande, M.Martin, S.Kotecha, A.Kronlund, I.Salmanzadeh)

Another upbeat track is very much appreciated and this track feels like a banger to me. I can see this going down a storm on the club scene.. “A little less conversation and a little more touch my body” is a great lyric (But I can see Mariah Carey fans getting antsy about it). The builds this song provides are grease, especially from the second verse to the chorus (which is exceptional) and is perfect for what is to come. 
Wow… That middle 8 is perfect – it includes, dance beats (Maybe dubstep?) and killer vocals (The best combination from Grande). If you liked ‘Break Free‘ you’ll love ‘Into You‘ it’s like a mature version of the aforementioned track. 8/10

 

 


5. Side By Side (Featuring Nicki Minaj)              *Audio*

(A.Grande, I.Salmanzadeh, M.Martin, O.Maraj, A.Kronlund, S.Kotecha)

 So far, these tracks are flowing very well considering each songs sounds very different from the last and ‘Side By Side‘ is no exception. The urban/R&B beats make for a pleasant change. I must admit, I am struggling to understand what Ariana is singing, but then again – it wouldn’t be an Ariana album if I could understand her. 
When Nicki makes her late appearance, it sounds as though it’s a Rihanna track and you kind of forget Ariana is the main artist. It almost feels like it’s a generic Nicki Minaj song as opposed to an Ariana track. This is definitely a body roll song if I ever heard one. 6/10

 

 


6. Let Me Love You (Featuring Lil’ Wayne)                    *Audio*

(A.Grande, T.Brown, V.McCants, S.Franks, D.Carter)

Oooh here we go. The intro to this song is dark and seedy…. but it’s perfect! I can see a black and white video with lots of smoking going on. The sound is so mature for Ariana but it works so well – the effect on her voice works well with the theme of the track and it sounds quite similar to what Mariah Carey would go for. If you are a fan of ‘Best Mistake‘ from ‘My Everything‘ you will love this tune, it draws so many similarities.
I commend Ariana thus far into the album for creating modern songs without them being bland and effortless – she really puts a lot into her work and so far she isn’t disappointing. 7.5/10

 


7. Greedy                  *Audio*

(M.Martin, S.Kotecha, A.Kronlund, I.Salmanzadeh)

GREEDY! Why hello there – I almost didn’t hear you kick in!
I love the angle Ariana has taken with this song, being greedy for love – and the attitude she displays really benefits the track and it’s funk fest of an instrumental “Baby you got lucky ‘cus your rockin’ with the best“… I can’t say I disagree. 
Comparisons to ‘Uptown Funk‘ have been drawn and I can see the similarities, it brings funk to pop which in my opinion has been long overdue (Long before Uptown Funk). I also love how the track is an up tempo floor filler and she can still show off her killer vocals. I can’t praise this song anymore.  10/10

 


8. Leave Me Lonely (Featuring Macy Gray)                          *Live*

(T.Brown, S.Franks, T.P.Lumpkins, V.McCants)

Now, if you’re like me – you probably saw the collaboration and thought “How random” I haven’t heard from Macy Gray for years; and when she opens the track you could actually easily mistake her for Lil’ Wayne. Soz Mace. 

This track is reminiscent of what may have come from a deluxe version of Ariana’s debut album ‘Yours Truly’ it has a dark 60’s retro feel to it whilst having a modern Amy Winehouse twist. 
In this track Ariana sings of a Dangerous love who is no good for her and you can hear heart ache and passion coming from both Macy and Ariana and they really bounce off of one another in this track. 6/10

 


9. Everyday (Featuring Future)               *Live*

(A.Grande, S.Kotecha, I.Salmanzadeh, N.Wilburn)

We have reached the last collaboration on this album which is with ‘Future’. The track is very ‘beat driven’ and is very modern indeed! The hook is so contagious, and just in case you don’t like the “Everyday” hook, Ariana has added a few “la“s to draw in the audience a bit more. It’s a fun song but doesn’t sound like an Ariana track, but more of a ‘Future’ song. It’s a great addition to the album nonetheless.  7/10

 


10. Sometimes            *Snippet*

(M.Martin, S.Kotecha, I.Salmanzadeh, P.Svensson)

First impressions… ‘Sometimes‘ feels like a typical ‘turning point’ in the album where we start to wind down and reach the end of our journey. The track is pleasant enough, but there’s nothing much for me to grip on to; the best part of the song is the middle 8 – there is more of a hook to grasp. Lyrically, the song is lovely but I’d have preferred a ballad as opposed to a limp mid-tempo track. It’s neither here or there. 5/10

 


11. I Don’t Care            *Snippet*

(A.Grande, T.Sayles, S.Franks, T.Brown, M.Foster, V.McCants, R.Tedder)

Ariana is bringing more of a laid back R&B vibe with ‘I Don’t Care‘. Musically, the track sounds like a sickly sweet love song from a 50’s jazz bar which supplies a nice juxtaposition to the lyrics. I feel the track is missing something, but I can’t put my finger on it… More lyrics and maybe adlibs? 5.5/10

 


12. Bad Decisions            *Clip*

(A.Grande, M.Martin, S.Kotecha, I.Salmanzadeh)

This is a easy listening, foot tapper track with a brilliant bridge and chorus. The verses are pretty forgettable and sound more filler than killer. 
I think what draws me into this song is that it never seems to stop and the beat goes on and on until the middle 8 where “Ain’t you ever seen a princess be a bad bitch?” appears with a lack of music which is pretty epic – and the ‘gangster’ attitude I am getting from Ariana is a nice change and suits the theme of the song.
Conversely, the constant beats progressing in this track makes you miss the techniques Ariana excels at, which are builds and killer vocals, and could come across as monotone (This obviously excludes the adlibs she produces over the chorus).
 7/10

 


13. Touch It                   *Audio*

(M.Martin, S.Kotecha, P.Svensson, A.Payami)

This track is as fresh as they come! The instrumental is so rich with different sounds, finger snaps, drums, electro pops – you name it. The hook that is given to us is quite catchy “Ain’t nobody gonna touch it, touch it, touch it” and cleverly is used as a tool to be misconstrued to whatever the listener perceives… Even a hat if you like!

Frisky Ariana is proving to be a hit with me, the whistles and falsettos along with the attitude she portrays really boosts her sex appeal here. 6.5/10

 


14. Knew Better / Forever Boy              *Clip*

(A.Grande, S.Franks, V.McCants, M.Foster, T.Brown, M.Tedder)

Listening to this track, I feel as though I have walked into a parallel universe – the introduction sounds are almost pulsating and the middle 8 which proceeds into the second part of the song, sounds as though Ariana is trying to talk to me but I can’t quite hear her over the madness that’s around me. Trance comes to mind.
Forever Boy‘ is definitely the better part of the track but overall I find this pretty drab and a waste of space on the album. I’m bored – I must admit though I do like the arrangement on “Be forever mine” she sounds good. 4/10

 


15. Thinking Bout You                *Audio*

(P.Svensson, C.Angelides, J.K.Hindlin, M.J.Lepine)

Love ballad/movie song alert. 
Similarly with ‘My Everything‘ the first and the last tracks have a habit of sounding quite similar to one another and as a listener I love that, it feels as though my journey through the album has closure, and ‘Thinking Bout You‘ has subtle tones which are alike with ‘Moonlight‘ – they are just boosted with a heavy bass and larger beats. The middle 8 of the song sounds just like “Anything Could Happen” by Ellie Goulding – but I’ll let that one slip.
The staccato vocals from Ariana which play throughout the song “I’m just thinking bout you” are quite exciting actually as from there the track could go anywhere. It’s just a shame that by the time I came to that realization the track ended abruptly! 6.5/10

 



Final Thoughts and Overall Scores

I need to start by saying I was so excited at the prospect of purchasing ‘Dangerous Woman’ it was unreal. I tried to save myself from listening to most of the previews but I’m only human and listened to a few… Oops!

Firstly, when looking over the album – I am so pleased Ariana stuck with the winning formula which is S.Kotecha and M.Martin; their collaboration with Ariana on ‘My Everything’ was fantastic and they haven’t disappointed with their efforts on ‘Dangerous Woman’.

Well, well, well… Ariana is all grown up isn’t she? When you hear the music she is producing in comparison to ‘Yours Truly‘ the progress is unbelievable. The tracks sound modern yet old school at the same time and make Ariana sound old before her time. 
Yet again, she is producing vocals that are out of this world and uses them to her advantage to convey so much emotion in songs such as ‘Leave Me Lonely‘ and ‘Dangerous Woman‘ where she can really let rip and show us what she’s made of. Conversely, Ariana shows she can still have fun and show off her vocals at the same time with tracks such as ‘Greedy‘ which is my personal favorite on the album and ‘Into You‘ which is extremely modern. All of the aforementioned track also show off Ariana in various lights with different themes and attitudes coming to fruition (I especially like sassy and sultry Ariana)

One of my only gripes with the album is that the tracks where she features other artists don’t actually sound like Ariana songs… but as though she is featuring on the featured artist’s songs – with the only exception being ‘Leave me Lonely‘ with Macy Gray. ‘Side to Side‘ with Nicki Minaj is dramatically different to the other tracks on the album providing a strong urban feel and ‘Everyday‘ has touches of an Ariana sound but sounds more of a Future track.

However, this brings me to commending Ariana on how the tracks flow very well from one to the other, even though they sound quite different to one another; they are welcomed changes as opposed to ‘Huh? what is this?’ moments (apart from ‘Sometimes‘ which to me feels as if it has been shoved in the track listing anywhere and works as an interlude rather than a song in its own right).
Overall, the wait was worth it! It leaves me interested in how the original edit of ‘Moonlight‘ shaped up and how it compares to ‘Dangerous Woman‘. 
103 / 150

 

Click here to see our article on Ariana’s Reign

 

Leave a comment